Improving Grid Options

• I was playing around with the grid options today and had a some thoughts for making it easier to use, at least in terms of my vantage point.

First, would love an option (if it's not already in there) to keep the grid contained only to the current open file and not be applied to all future artboards automatically. When I create a grid, I don't always want it to be carried over to every new document I make

second idea - I'm relatively new to using grids though I see tremendous potential in them with my work. I love the ability to add grid setups to the presets section in the grid editing panel - it would be nice if it came with some by default. Are there common use grids that people use or is everything always custom? If we as the collective forum body came up with some common use grids, could those be added as defaults with @VectorStyler having final say in which get added in?

Third - It would be nice if there was a way to refresh to settings without closing out the grid options. I saw there was a preview checkbox, but it did not seem to refresh the screen after edits were made (without hitting confirm)
    Right now I have to add a new grid to the mix to get it to refresh and then delete the new grid once I see the update. Perhaps a "refresh settings" button near the ok and cancel?

0_1657916187867_e3077650-15b1-4ca1-b108-b8dc98b90192-BLD 2022-07-15 at 16.04.39.png

• administrators

@Boldline said in Improving Grid Options:

First, would love an option (if it's not already in there) to keep the grid contained only to the current open file and not be applied to all future artboards automatically. When I create a grid, I don't always want it to be carried over to every new document I make

Could make this a new document option. Sometimes a default grid is needed.

second idea - Are there common use grids that people use or is everything always custom?