FR: API for Scripting

• @vectoradmin Makes sense. Quick aside: If you ever considered to provide a python interface for the eventually coming scripting API, that would be amazing. It's imo a way better language for this kind of thing.

• @vectoradmin

You already mentioned Lula and Java Script, which of the
    two is from your point of view the scripting language that
    offers the most possibilities in Vs?

I have some (amateurish) knowledge of various scripting languages, including Lua.
    Have always enjoyed using these to automate operations.

Lua seems to me to be a bit easier than Java Script for beginners (myself included 🙂 ).

Bwt. while @Nils wrote this, have no knowledge in Phyton. ( yet 🙂 ).

• administrators

@Subpath @Nils The current architecture of VS allows the addition of scripting languages as plugins.

Currently only Lua is implemented, but it is not public. JavaScript is certainly will be added, and from what I know Python is also possible.

The (native) interfaces to VS are dynamic and it is easy to create / call any object or method from a scripting language, or navigate existing object hierarchies like the document.

The main challenge is to select what interfaces to publish, and document those, this where the actual effort will be.

• @Subpath Hey, you should pick up some python when you find some time. It's really easy to learn and a lot better for these purposes. For example: Inkscape uses it for their extensions and it works beautifully. Since VS is in most other aspects a lot better than Inkscape ( expectedly, since it's paid ), this would really widen the gap a lot.

• @vectoradmin I see, so I imagine the backend document structure manipulation to be similar to your typical svg xml doc..

• administrators

@Nils said in FR: API for Scripting:

@vectoradmin I see, so I imagine the backend document structure manipulation to be similar to your typical svg xml doc..