Hand tracing features (1/3) - Reference layers/objects

• Story template: “As a [persona], I [want to], [so that].”

Story
    As a hand tracing artist I would like a set of features and keyboard shortcuts so that my time-consuming repeating workflows are directly supported and simplified by the software.

Description
    When hand tracing ie. a digitized sketch with for example the pen tool quick or constant access to compare with one or more source files - the scanned digitized sketches - is vital. The workflow is simple: the user draws outlines of a reference image and often fills the created objects with gradients or solid colors as well. Seeing both the reference image(s) and the result of the hand tracing simultaneously on the screen is key. Having specific reference objects/layers would greatly support the hand tracing workflows. From time to time the user wants the reference objects hidden for a brief moment - or longer - this must be easy to accomplish.

Reference objects/layers should act as click-through layers. The reference image is just a visual guide and should thus not act as a traditional layer blocking working on layers/objects underneath but simply serve as a visual guide during the hand tracing proces. It should be possible to toggle the visibility of the reference layers with a single keyboard shortcut. Several reference images are sometimes needed on a canvas/in a project, so it should be a setting on the individual layers/objects.

The issue that this solves is the current lack of such features where a reference layer/object can disappear in the long list of objects in the layer panel, and the proces of finding, hiding or showing them is tedious and frustrating as this needs to be done several times in a workflow and sometimes non-stop during handtracing.

Scenarios